GLOBE Working Groups

The purpose of the Working Groups (WGs) is to enhance the role of GLOBE U.S. and Country Partners and GLOBE Scientists and Educators in shaping the future of the GLOBE Program and supporting the development and implementation of GLOBE worldwide. 

Four GLOBE WGs have been created comprised of community members. The WGs can have up to seven members; all efforts are made to have each of the six GLOBE regions represented in the groups. The one remaining slot can be filled by At-Large members. If you believe there are topics that the groups should discuss and bring forward to the management of the Program, you should contact your regional representative. If your region does not have a representative at this time, feel free to contact the WG Chair.

IMPORTANT: Working Group members have monthly meetings via Zoom.  This requires a functioning internet connection.  Members are expected to attend at least nine of the 12 monthly meetings over the course of the year. Working Groups also meet at the annual meeting.  To be productive, functional, and representative of their region, members need to fully participate in both the online meetings and any email correspondence each year of service. While a typical term of service is one to three years, members who do not fully participate in the groups, can be asked to step down from the group. 

  Region Member Name Country Email Contact Service Years
Education (7)
  Africa Francis Wasswa N. Nsubuga Uganda 2016 - 2022*
  Asia and Pacific Rod Allan A. de Lara Philippines 2019 - 2021
  Europe and Eurasia Diana Garasic Croatia 2017 - 2020
Chair Latin America and Caribbean Marta Kingsland Argentina 2019 - 2021
  Near East and North Africa Manal Alsaleh Kuwait 2019 -2021
  North America Dorian Janney USA 2020 - 2022
At Large North America Lynne Hehr USA  2018 - 2020
GIO Liaison   John Ristvey  
Evaluation (7)
  Africa Ylliass Lawani Benin 2017 -2020
  Asia and Pacific Yogendra Chitrakar Nepal  2018 - 2021
Chair Europe and Eurasia Nektaria Adaktilou Greece
2014 - 2021*
  Latin America and Caribbean Andrea Ventoso Uruguay 2014 - 2020*
  Near East and North Africa Hanan Al Buflasa Bahrain 2019 - 2021
  North America Kevin O'Connor Canada 2014 - 2020*
At Large Latin America and Caribbean Nadia Bandeira Sacenco Brazil 2020- 2022
GIO Liaison   Mindi DePaola  
Science (7)
  Africa Olawale Ayodeji Oluwafemi Nigeria 2014 - 2020*
Chair Asia and Pacific Mullica Jaroensutasinee Thailand 2014 - 2021*
  Europe and Eurasia Constantinos Cartalis Greece 2017 - 2022*
  Latin America and Caribbean Claudia Caro Peru 2014 - 2020*
  Near East and North Africa Hameed Sluaiman Oman  2018 - 2020
  North America Margaret Pippin USA 2016 - 2021*
At Large North America Rebecca Boger USA 2019 - 2021
GIO Liaison   Amy Barfield  
Technology (7)
Chair Africa Charles Mwangi Kenya 2014 - 2021*
  Asia and Pacific Krisanadej (Kris) Jaroensutasinee Thailand 2014 - 2021*
  Europe and Eurasia Ieva Kalka Latvia 2020-2022
  Latin America and Caribbean Ana Beatriz Prieto Argentina  2018 - 2020
  Near East and North Africa Ahmad Almbaidin Jordan 2019 - 2021
  North America Allyson Edwards USA  2018 - 2020
At Large Europe and Eurasia Laura Altin Estonia 2018 - 2022
GIO Liaison   Eslam Khair USA